Bree Ettinger

I was born in upstate New York and spent much of my early childhood in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia. We moved back to the states, to Georgia, when I was eight years old. When as a teenager, I qualified for the U.S. National Mountain Bike team. I competed four World Championship downhill mountain bike races as a junior: 1995 in Kirchzarten, Germany, 1996 in Cairns, Australia, 1997 in Château d'Oex, Switzerland, and 1998 in Mont-Sainte-Anne, Quebec, Canada.

During my last year of high school, I attended North Georgia College and State University as a postsecondary option student. I took Calculus I, II, III, Intro to Political Science, Water Safety Instruction, and an Environmental Science course. My final project for my Environmental Science class was on Global Warming. I entered the University of Georgia as Genetics major but found through Organic Chemistry that I was much better at math and changed my major. I competed on the UGA cycling team and at regional mountain bike races throughout college. After my undergraduate degree I stayed at UGA for a Masters in Arts degree in Mathematics. The summer after my Masters degree I was as Intern at the Boeing Company’s Phantom Works Mathematics Department in Seattle. I continued as a PhD student the next fall. I met my husband Jamie when I was a junior in college and we got married after I passed my PhD qualifying exams.

In 2009, I graduated from the University of Georgia with a PhD in Mathematics and a Masters in Science in Statistics. I taught one year at Georgia State University and one year at Morehouse before taking a research post-doc in Milan, Italy for two years. I loved my time in Italy. In 2013, I happily to returned to Atlanta start my career at Emory. Now, I commute by bike or ride for fun on the weekends with Jamie and our kids (Ollie and Miles).

I've added a few photos below of some other elements of my life that didn't fit into the narrative above.